GRILLED/ROASTED TANDOORI CHICKEN

Sunday’s menu at my home was almost always Chicken Curry. Dad used to go early morning to the market, buy the whole chicken and bring it home. He cleans and cut the chicken (keeping the drumsticks intact) and hand it over to my mom. My mom keeps the drumsticks aside (marinate it with homemade masala) and cooks the chicken curry with the rest of the pieces. Once she is done with the lunch preparation, she used to fry the chicken drumsticks for me and my sister. That used to taste so awesome! So my love for chicken drumstick had started from childhood and still it is one of my favorites.

There used to be this restaurant called “Trivandrum Chicken Corner” near to the recreation club of which my dad was a member. Knowing my love for chicken drumsticks, once in a while he used to buy chappathi and fried chicken from the restaurant. I used to love those and used to worry what I would do when I go away from my home, how I would eat all these Yummy treats…yes there was no other way that I started cooking! The basic masala recipe is same as what my mom uses and the tandoori one is from the internet (have used various recipes from Sanjeev Kapoor’s to Shikha’s (my friend)) and has come up with this one of mine, which has been tried, tested a lot of times and the taste was consistent. Enjoy!

Tandoori Chicken

Ingredients
*************

  1. Chicken – 7 drumsticks (You can use breast or thigh pieces, I prefer to use drumsticks when it comes to grill/roast/fry)
  2. Lemon Juice – ½ slice of lemon ( I prefer to use fresh squeezed lemon than the package one)
  3. Green Chilli- 2 medium pieces (grinded and made into a paste, adjust to your spice level)
  4. Garlic Paste – 5 pods
  5. Ginger Paster – 1 medium piece
    6. Salt – to taste
  6. Oil – 1 tsp (I use Olive oil)
  7. Egg – 1 (Beaten)Peeled Chicken

Masala Powders:-

  1. Red Chilli Powder- 1 tsp
  2. Turmeric Powder- ½ tsp
  3. Black Pepper Powder – 2 tsp (crushed and grinded, thanks to my Mother in law)
  4. Kashmiri Chilli Powder – 1 tsp (I prefer not to use any food color, so this would give the red color required and little spiciness)
  5. Garam Masala – 1 tsp (I usually use the garam masala my Mother in law prepares – she uses Cloves, Cardamom, Star ainse, Cinnamon,nutmeg to make the masala)

Tandoori Masala Preparation :

1.Dry roast ingredients 1 through 4 in a pan.
2.Once the raw smell of masala is gone, add garam masala and toast it for 1 minute.

Masala 2

Marinating Paste:

1. Mix the garlic and ginger paste in a bowl with 1 tsp of olive oil (use a bowl which can hold upto 8 pieces of drumsticks).

Masala1
2.  Add little bit of kashmiri powder and black pepper to the mixture.
3. Add an egg to this mixture and blend it well.
4. Add the tandoori masala to this mixture. Add salt to taste and mix all the ingredients well  (Please make sure to make variations according to your spice level).

IMG_3008

Method:
*********

1. Peel the skin of the drumsticks. Dry it with a napkin. Prick the chicken with a fork or a sharp knife. This makes sure that the masala gets absorbed by the chicken. (My mom usually makes 2 deep slits in the chicken if drumsticks are used).
2.  Add little turmeric powder and salt on the the drumsticks and keep it for 10 mts. There will be some water released from the chicken, remove that.
3.  Rub 1 tsp black pepper powder, lemon juice, green chilli paste and keep the marinate for another 10 minutes. Meanwhile make the tandoori masala and the next marination paste.

With Pepper

4.  Add the marinating paste into a plate and take one by one the drumstick pieces and make sure to rub the marinating paste evenly on to the pieces.

Chick pieces
5. Once all chicken pieces has been coated with the paste, keep the drumsticks in the bowl used for preparing the marinating paste and wipe all the extra marinate from the inside the bowl.
(Few of my friends keeps this marinated chicken overnight in the refrigerator and has told that it elevates the taste). I normally keep the marinated chicken for maximum 20 to 45 minutes or max 1 hour. I clean the kitchen and utensils while my drumsticks are soaking all the masala’s and getting ready to be cooked :).
6. After about an hour, the marinated chicken can be either roasted or grilled. I have used the oven to roast the chicken.
7. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place aluminium foil on a baking plate. Spray the olive oil or brush the inside of the baking tray/aluminium foil with olive oil.
8. Keep the chicken arranged as shown in the picture to give enough space between each piece.

Chick pieces 2
9. I also keep a baking tray with water below the baking tray with chicken. This helps the chicken pieces to retain the water and remain juicy. [This trick courtesy goes to Mahesh, my husband:)]

In the oven

10. Bake it for 15 minutes and you can see the chicken has started to change the color to golden red. Turn them over and bake it for another 15 minutes.

Getting ready
10. Garnish the chicken with onions, curry leaves. Serve it hot.

Almost ready

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “GRILLED/ROASTED TANDOORI CHICKEN

  1. Monsoon Breeze February 1, 2015 at 8:05 am Reply

    Looks very delicious!! Would love to taste it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mailsindhur February 1, 2015 at 8:39 am Reply

    Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

