TOMATO RASAM (TOMATO SOUP)

During our childhood, whenever we used to get cough and cold, my mom used to make a tangy and spicy tomato soup. I hate having medicines, so that worked well for me. When I reached USA, I had this super tangy, lentil based rasam made by my dear friend SandyP. From then onwards my mom’s rasam had a strong competitor, that is SandyP’s rasam. I tried to shadow him one day to understand the secret recipe, but to my surprise he utilized all the spices/masala and it was so overwhelming that I decided its better to just have the awesome tasty tomato rasam prepared by SandyP rather than recreating it by learning it (which I don’t think I would ever be able to….complicated recipe 🙂 or may be I will now learn it from Anjali (SandyP’s wife)). So presenting to you my version of simple tomato rasam.

Rasam Main

Ingredients
**********

  1. Tomato – 3 medium ones (I normally use thigh instead of breast)
  2. Onions – 1/2  (thin slices)
  3. Garlic – 6 pods (crushed)
  4. Green Chillies – 1 big
  5. Red Chillies – 6 small
  6. Oil – 2 tsp
  7. Mustard Seeds
  8. Salt – as required
  9. Curry Leaves
  10. Cilantro
  11. Water – 2 cups
  12. Asafoetida – 1 pinch (Hing)
  13. Tamarind (optional) – 1 pinch

Ingredients

Masala Powders:-

1.Red Chilly powder – 1 tsp
2.Pepper powder – 1 tsp
3.Turmeric powder – ½ tsp
4. Cumin Powder – 1 tsp
5. Rasam Powder – 1 tsp

Method
******

  1. Heat Oil in a kadai, add green chillies and curry leaves . Add garlic and dried red chillies. Saute until the garlic turns to light brown color.
    IMG_6824
  2. Add the chopped onions and little salt. Saute this until they turn golden brown.IMG_6825
  3. Add red chilli powder, turmeric powder, pepper and cumin powder to this and saute until the raw smell of the masala is gone.
    IMG_6826
  4. Add tomatoes to this. Once the puree starts to ooze out, mildly push the tomato pieces using the back of the spoon.
    IMG_6827 IMG_6828
  5. Once the tomatoes are moderately crushed and the sauce had evenly come out, add cilantro and then one cup of water and the tamarind water (optional if tomatoes make it tangy).
    IMG_6829
    IMG_6830
  6. Add a pinch of hing. Adjust the salt and masala as required.
    IMG_6832
  7. Once the rasam boils, add curry leaves and cilantro.
    IMG_6833
    IMG_6838
Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “TOMATO RASAM (TOMATO SOUP)

  1. Anu Nagaraja March 10, 2015 at 3:59 pm Reply

    mmm I feel as though I can savor the flavors in the aroma from here 🙂 delicious rasam.

    Like

Leave a Reply

